Public Document Pack



Borough of Telford and Wrekin

A Special Meeting of the Borough of Telford & Wrekin Thursday 19 January 2023 5.30 pm

Telford Theatre, Limes Walk, Oakengates, Telford, TF2 6EP

Democratic Services: Jayne Clarke / Stacey 01952 383205 / 384382

Worthington

Media Enquiries: Corporate Communications 01952 382406

Committee Members: Councillors S Bentley, K T Blundell, M Boylan, A J Burford,

S P Burrell, E M Callear, L D Carter, E J Carter, G H Cook, S Davies, N A Dugmore, A J Eade, A R H England,

S Davies, N A Dugmore, A J Eade, A R H England,

N A M England, R C Evans, V A Fletcher, I T W Fletcher,

J Gough, E J Greenaway, C Healy, V J Holt, M B Hosken, T L B Janke, A S Jhawar, J Jones, R T Kiernan, G C W Latham-

Reynolds, JE Lavery, A Lawrence, J Loveridge,

A D McClements, R Mehta, K Middleton, L A Murray, T J Nelson,

G L Offland, R A Overton, I Preece, S J Reynolds,

S A W Reynolds, H Rhodes, Lord Sahota, P J Scott,

J M Seymour, C F Smith, M J Smith, B J Thompson,

W L Tomlinson, K T Tomlinson, C R Turley, P Watling,

B Wennington, D R W White and D Wright

Agenda Page

1.0 Honorary Alderman of the Borough

The Council is asked to admit as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough, the following individual, being a person of distinction and being considered to have rendered eminent service to the Borough of Telford & Wrekin.

Mr Robert James Sloan

Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972 provides that a Council may pass a resolution to admit an honorary alderman providing that not less than two-thirds of Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specifically convened for this purpose vote in support.

RECOMMENDED – that the nominated individual be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Telford & Wrekin.

2.0 Honorary Freeman of the Borough

The Council is being asked to admit the following, being of distinction and considered to have rendered eminent service to Telford & Wrekin, as an Honorary Freeman of the Borough:

Mr Liam Davies

Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972 provides that a Council may pass a resolution to admit an honorary freeman providing that not less than two-thirds of Members voting thereon at a meeting of the Council specifically convened for this purpose vote in support.

Mrs Iris Butler and Mr Richie Woodhall were admitted as Freeman of the Borough in 2002, Mr Lee Carter in 2005, Mrs Elizabeth Holt in 2008, Mr Peter Gibbons in 2009, The Rifles in 2010, Mr George Whyle in 2011, Mr Ricky Furgusson in 2012, Mr Mickey Bushell in 2014, Mr Alan Olver in 2015, Mr John Gill in 2017, Ms Mandie Mulloy and Telford Crisis Support in 2022.

RECOMMENDED – that the nominated individual be admitted as an Honorary Freeman of the Borough of Telford & Wrekin.